The Holiness of God – R.C. Sproul

Link

R.C. Sproul is a giant in the Reformed tradition.  Step into any church library with half a Calvinistic inkling and what will you see?  Yup.  There on the shelf, worn out but dust free, sits a book by R.C. Sproul. 

I remember listening to him on a cassette (I think it was a cassette).  The place was called “My Father’s Library,” or maybe it was “Our Father’s Library.”  The name slips me.  But anyway, it was a little Christian store in Peru, Indiana.  To my delight- because that was before the advent of the mp3 player- they had tapes and a few CDs that one could check out.  For free!  Sweet mother of Pearl!  It was like a goldmine.  Now I could be wrong, but I think that’s where I first picked up the little white cassette entitled, “The Holiness of God,” by R.C. Sproul. 

“Hmmm,” I thought. “This looks interesting.”  I had heard of him, but hadn’t listened to him.  So naturally, I checked it out. 

To this day I can remember him talking about the inner sanctum, and the man who reached out and touched the Ark of the Covenant, and when Jesus calmed the tumultuous seas, and the tower that fell and killed some bystanders.  But I especially remember Isaiah 6.  Oh, the scene!  The glory!

I wish I could find the exact message I heard back yonder, but I can’t (not that I’ve tried really hard).  Nevertheless, R.C. Sproul has given similar talks many times since.  And one of those happened more recently at a Desiring God Conference.  So if you haven’t given R.C. a listen on this subject, I would say that it’s a must.  Isn’t knowledge about God’s holiness always a must? 

There are several sessions.  I will link you to the Conference page.  There you will see several messages.  The one at the top is by R.C. Sproul.  Let your eye drop and you will see others by R.C.  They are in order.  So listen in that order.  They are:

The Holiness of God

The Holiness of Christ

Holiness and Justice

Difficulty: Beginner to Intermediate

Must Listen Factor: A Must Listen.  Like I said, Christians should contemplate God’s holiness.  And R.C. Sproul is a very fine teacher. 

Download Audio, The Holiness of God, R.C. Sproul.  Click Picture.

Leave a Reply

