Wilson – Hitchens Debate: Is Christianity Good for the World?

Click the cigarette

When I first heard that Christopher Hitchens and Douglas Wilson were going to be in the same room, on the same stage, at the same time, a shiver of excitement shot through me.  I felt like I had been thrown back to sixth grade when Scott Harper started a fight with Daniel Spencer.  Everyone stopped and watched with wide eyes.  Not a sound could be heard but the panting of the two combatants as they swung wildly and wrestled each other to the ground.  And teachers weren’t around!  So it was a free for all!  I loved every second of it (I guess that explains my fascination with UFC, that is, watching grown, sweaty men pummel each other’s faces.  But I digress.).        

So as I was saying, when I heard these two guys were going to debate each other, I eagerly waited for the “download audio” link to appear.  For who better to take on that cool, sly and witty atheist, Hitchens, than Douglas Wilson, that cool, sly, witty theologian? 

If you don’t know, Hitchens is the guy who wrote the bestseller, “God is not Great.”  He’s one of the four horsemen of the New Atheists clan.  Actually, as I write this, I have his other book freshly checked out from the library downstairs, “The Portable Atheist: Essential Readings for the Nonbeliever.”  What can I say, I’m a fixed theist who doesn’t need to read it, but wanted to give it a glance.  It’s rather bland and the same old same old. 

So what else do I have to say?  The entertainment factor is through the roof.  It’s a great debate.  Check it out.

Oh, and if you want to see Vantillian presuppositionalism at work on the street level, definitely pay attention to Wilson.

Difficulty: Intermediate

Must Listen Factor: High.  I give it an A.  If you enjoy debates, it’s a must listen.  If not, sleep on it. 

Download Audio, Is Christianity Good for the World.  See Picture.

Leave a Reply

