Crass Plagiarism: The Problem of the Relationship of the OT to Ancient Near Eastern Literature – John Currid

When Reformed Theological Seminary announced that they were going to make some of their courses available for free on ITunes, I perked up, fired up ITunes and quickly starting searching the goldmine.  While scavenging around, I stumbled across this 3-part series.  I remember thinking, “Well now, that’s a provocative title.  Download for free?  Why not?  Click, click, click.” 

Downloading blind, so to speak, as I had no idea what to expect, I figured I’d pop in my ear bud and find myself listening to a monotonous and painfully boring lecture, one that would propel me into a coma like state whereby I would lose all awareness of my surroundings and get attacked by a sneaky dog (recall that I’m a mailman). 

To my surprise, I was riveted.  Was I riveted because Dr. Currid spoke with the passion and unction of a Whitefield?  Well, no, not exactly.  Rather I heard new and wondrous things.  I felt like a carnivore at a steakhouse.  Nearly everything was tasty and meaty. 

So look.  If you’ve heard of a guy named Peter Enns, and if you’re curious how Exodus is both polemical and ironic, then give this a listen.  You won’t be disappointed.

Difficulty: Intermediate to Advanced

Must Listen Factor: I thought it was a great.  But in all fairness, this is probably only going to appeal to pastors, teachers and students.  So if you’re one of those, then I would say that this has a high must listen factor.  For all others, I suppose it would be low… unless of course you want a T-bone steak. 

To Download click picture or search ITunes for “Crass Plagiarism.”

Leave a Reply

