What Should We Teach About Creationism? – John Piper

I just happened to stumble across this little tidbit, while tracking down Piper’s faith and reason lecture (see the post below).  In this short clip, Piper answers the question, “How far should we go in teaching creationism in the church?  How important or unimportant is it?”

Unaware of Piper’s position, I was curious and promptly downloaded it.  I must say that I’m a little surprised at his response.  After highlighting a few points (Literal Adam and Eve, no sin in the pre-fall world, recent human beginning, etc.), which didn’t surprise me, he ended by saying that he felt most comfortable with Sailhamer’s view (which allows for an old earth). 

Now if you’re like me, you’re wondering what Sailhamer’s view is.  Guess what?  I don’t really know.  I recently picked up his book entitled, “The Meaning of the Pentateuch,” which is good (so far), but nothing has been said about creation (so far). 

Snooping around Amazon, I found Sailhamer’s book on creation entitled, “Genesis Unbound.”  It looks like Sailhamer tries to argue that the land of Genesis chapters 1 and 2 is the Promised Land.  Really?  Hmmm.  Well, now, I don’t know about that, but my interest is certainly piqued. 

Time to do some reading.          

Difficulty: Beginner to Intermediate

Must Listen Factor: Ok, the clip is like 4 and half minutes.  Listen while you brush your teeth or something. 

Additional Resources:  Here is what appears to be an explanation.  Link.  It is over at Desiring God and is entitled, “Science, the Bible, and the Promised Land: An Analysis of John Sailhamer’s Genesis Unbound.”

I also heard an interesting little clip from Tim Keller.  Check this out (It’s a bit over 6 minutes): How Do Genesis 1 and 2 Relate?

Download Audio, click picture.

Leave a Reply

