Paul and the People of God – N.T. Wright

He’s influential, winsome, scholarly, and yes, controversial.  I’m referring of course to N.T. Wright, Bishop of Durham.  Back in April, he spoke at the 19th annual Wheaton Theology Conference.  The conference was something of a dialogue; a time of interaction with the Bishop’s views. 

Besides the nine other presentations, some of which disappointed me for various reasons, and some of which I haven’t yet downloaded, Bishop Wright delivered two central addresses, along with two panel discussions.  Both of the keynote addresses are good.  The one on Paul is particularly interesting.  Not only were there a number of tasty nuggets- some truly insightful thoughts- but the Bishop’s views are presented in a wide and sweeping fashion.  If I said “full orbed,” that would be too strong a statement, but it’s close.  Nevertheless, if you want to get a really good feel for his theological outlook, this is the place to camp out for an hour or two. 

Difficulty: Fairly advanced. 

Must Listen Factor: Moderate/Specialized.  Anyone interested in following the theology of Bishop Wright should really listen to these.  In fact, the whole conference is illuminating… though again, I haven’t yet listened to all of them.  But I’ve gotten a good feel for it thus far.

Length: Both lectures are about an hour and fifteen minutes.

To Download: Click Picture.  N.T. Wright’s messages are at the bottom of Friday and Saturday.  It’s obvious, don’t worry.

Additional Resources:  Note the exchange  between Piper and Wright.  Piper has written a volume (The Future of Justification) responding to and critiquing the Bishop’s views.  N.T. Wright has responded in his book, “Justification: God’s Plan and Paul’s Vision.”  You can listen to another critique of N.T. Wright here: SBTS Panel: N.T. Wright and Justification.

2 thoughts on “Paul and the People of God – N.T. Wright

  1. woot, thank you! I’ve finally came across a website where the owner knows what they’re talking about. You know how many results are in Google when I check.. too many! It’s so annoying having to go from page after page after page, wasting my day away with tons of owners just copying eachother’s articles… ugh. Anyway, thankyou for the information anyway, much appreciated.

    1. Ah, you are very much welcome. The funny thing is that I have felt the exact same way. But it took me like three years before I ever thought to myself, “Hey, why don’t I post on some of the better stuff out there so people don’t have to rummage around the internet?” So anyway, I’m glad you like the idea. I hope it serves you well. Oh, and if you ever come across something interesting, drop me a line. I’m always looking for good listens.

Leave a Reply

