Change My Mind: As A Conservative Christian I Should Not Vote For President Trump

When it comes to voting in favor of President Trump, the Christian’s rationale often goes something like this: since there is no such thing as a perfect candidate, voters will inevitably have to wrestle with a lesser of two evils scenario. President Trump certainly exhibits failures of character and competency at times, yet for all his faults, the Left poses a greater threat to American ideals and morality. Therefore, my vote is not cast in favor of the Right’s faults, but is operating on the straightforward calculus of inviting less evil into the world, since I believe that the Right stands, on balance, for more righteousness.

Moreover, I am loathe to engage in a write-in vote because it functionally concedes power to the greater evil. Pragmatism must overrule the high cost (if not foolish cost) of idealism, since such idealism has no real chance of seeing the light of day. We must be realists.

My response:

Let me begin by making a couple fairly uncontroversial comments:

1) Candidates will always be flawed, sinful people. As such, we invariably have to weigh the cost of their perceived strengths against their perceived weaknesses. If, on balance, we think more evil will obtain as a result of their leadership, then we hit the reject button. If not, then they meet the requisite threshold of acceptability.

2) We can imagine scenarios where both of the leading candidates are so wildly incompetent, or immoral, or singularly dangerous to the world, that we would draw a line in the sand and say, “These candidates are simply too reprehensible; talk of voting for a lesser of two evils becomes effectively irrelevant.” For example, imagine if the two leading choices were Hitler and Stalin. I trust that all sensible people would say, “Nope. It is write-in time.”

So here we have two principles. The first is the Acceptable Lesser Evil Principle and the Both Are Simply Too Terrible Principle.

Now if at this point I were to say that I think both Biden and Trump confront us with a Both Are Simply Too Terrible situation, many of my Christian friends would roll their eyes and dismiss me as hopelessly idealistic, if not downright dumb.

So before I say that, allow me to provide but only two reasons why I think this is so.

A) My opposition to both candidates stems from an intense belief that the current state of politics is so manifestly broken, and so wildly dishonest and tribal, that it demands an immediate hard course correction. We must take a stand and say enough is enough and demand higher standards of truth and honesty and transparency, otherwise we tacitly wink at the dissolving standards and thereby accept new lows of acceptability. At some point sin’s corrosive power will overwhelm the system, and I think we are beyond flirting with its feral borders. We speak with our mouths and with our votes, and they have to listen to our votes. The best way to send a message is to quit accepting the junk candidates they hand us.

Take honesty. Trump is wildly dishonest. Biden is wildly dishonest. Most of the leading politicians are wildly dishonest. And we don’t view it as wildly unacceptable and worthy of receiving swift and sharp political retribution. Once something like lying becomes part and parcel of the substructure of political discourse, the whole enterprise becomes fatally compromised. It is irredeemably broken. Like a body infected with cancer.

Let me say it another way. Christians are passionate about pro-life issues. But why should the world value the sanctity of life if they don’t value the sanctity of truth? The truth requires us to say what is real about the infant in the womb. But when we give politicians a pass for lying, even egregious and compulsive lying, we eviscerate the foundation upon which other critical issues are built. They need to fear our vote. That holds them in check. But when we give them a pass for lying, we invite chaos. We are to blame for accepting the declining standards.

B) Let’s talk about tribalism and hypocritical finger pointing. Both parties love to point out the faults of the other. Some are literally professionals at it. But the subterfuge and dishonesty and unfairness of it all is so gross and ubiquitous it defies all norms of common decency and fairness. How can anyone effectively navigate complex issues with any success when both sides are so eager to misrepresent and straw man the other side? It deeply undermines our ability to get things done. It deeply undermines rational discourse. And both President Trump and Biden fail in this area, as do most in both parties.

So there you have it. Two reasons why both President Trump and former Vice President Biden should not receive our vote. They both harbor disqualifying attributes; flaws that carry too great a cost.

What I believe we should do instead is demand with our voices, and with our votes, that we be presented with competent, trustworthy, honest, rational, brilliant leaders who value sensible solutions to complex issues. Groping after anything less in the name of perceived short gains “because this is the most important election of our time” can and has resulted in a quagmire of foolishness, even by modern secular standards, let alone the Church’s.

So by way of summary, Christians who would have me vote for President Trump effectively believe that it is worth compromising X, Y, and Z in order to secure results A, B, and C. The difference between us is that while I likewise desire A, B, and C, I am not willing to compromise X or Y, given the dire consequences that I perceive to flow out of it.

Can you show me why such compromise isn’t woefully deleterious?

My guess is that you would point me again to the simple calculus of voting for a lesser of two evils. But from my vantage point, the lesser of two evils argument harbors a faulty assumption in this context. I am not forced to choose between two alternatives. I have other live choices. So what you are really objecting to here is that I would either “throw away my vote” or effectively concede the election to the greater evil.

But note again that my vote is operating on a greater good axis by aiming at something higher. I’m thinking big picture, long term. I think the better path forward is to send a clear message to the system; to say enough is enough- we want better.

Can you imagine if the Church unified around this message and showed that they meant it by voting accordingly? Would the system adjust to win back our vote?

I would love to see if they would (and I suspect they would). If not, then I am still happy to maintain a higher standard as a pilgrim passing through this broken world.

So in order to change my mind, I would need to be shown the error in my thinking. In particular:

  1. That the sins outlined above are not in fact disqualifying. Or,
  2. That President Trump does not engage regularly in the kinds of sins charged against him above.

9 thoughts on “Change My Mind: As A Conservative Christian I Should Not Vote For President Trump

  1. I’m actually surprised at your list of sins. Not that I think they’re not true, or not disqualifying, just that they’re different from the list I would have generated. For me, extreme arrogance would also be high on the list of disqualifying sins.

    I am curious, with your talk of most national politicians on both sides taking part in this lying and tribalism, will you likely stick with upstanding local politicians, and do write-ins for all others? Or, do you see any exceptions to these prevailing sins at the national level?

    1. Hi Zachary! Hope you and your family are doing well.

      I would wholeheartedly agree that extreme arrogance, as well as the other sins you would no doubt enumerate, should also make the list. I purposively selected these to challenge certain basic assumptions on the Right, as well as root-level issues that affect the entire political project. And everyone has been talking about arrogance and pride 🙂

      Upstanding local politicians and do write-ins for the others (unless there is a good alternative party choice). For me, when I look at what we could get at the national level, given American talent, I just think, “Yeah, we can do better. Give us that. Give us a system that doesn’t select for slimy character.” There are some great military leaders and former military leaders. There are also some great entrepreneurs or “common” folk who I believe would be better.

  2. Austin, you have truly captured the problem with our current political system: unacceptable candidates. How does this happen repeatedly? I believe $$ plays a role. It’s as though the dominant candidate raises the most $$ so the selections are made based on the candidate’s fundraising skills. The candidates are no longer chosen based on their platforms and beliefs. Therefore, we are left with our current situation.

    However, our nation’s bifurcation is solely our own fault. I take great offense to being referred to as “leftist” just because I tend to support the Democratic agenda. I support the working class as opposed to the corporate class but that does not somehow make me less “righteous” than a Republican. This division of the people will be the ruin of our democracy.

    The truth is, as you have said, WE have the power—all of us. But, I have been watching politicians degrade our voting power since George W. took office. Unfortunately, the Republican party has enacted legislative reforms since 2000 that continue to undermine our ability to be heard through our votes. Thankfully, some states have taken steps to ensure that every votes DOES count. More states must follow their example before the balance is restored but, hopefully, more eyes are being opened to the discrepancy created by past legislative reforms.

    Finally Austin, I really enjoyed reading your commentary. You have definitely made several valid points which are impressive. I wish that more young people would put their minds into creating a better future like you are clearly doing. Personally, as a woman who lived through the Equal Rights era (which includes equal rights for women) I couldn’t be more disgusted that the Republicans allowed a person like D. Trump to represent their Party. That is truly a new low: one that I pray will never be repeated.

    1. Thank you for the thoughtful and heartfelt reply, Peggy! And your kind words. I don’t really deserve it, knowing my heart as I do. But thank you. One of my prayers is that both sides (and those between) would feel the weight of their own party’s sins just as strongly as those on the other side. One can only imagine what would happen if that were the case.

      Hope you and Steve are doing well. I miss you all.

      1. Facebook is at least good for keeping in touch with those we care about ! Stay healthy and happy. We both think of you alot. Your book sits on one of our shelves by the TV!

  3. Hey Austin,

    Interesting ideas entertainingly presented, as usual. 🙂 In my view, your argument is a political argument, not a moral argument. Which is a relief to me; I’ve had quite enough of being told why I’m a terrible human being because I plan to vote for Trump.

    To address some specific points:

    From you: “Take honesty. Trump is wildly dishonest. Biden is wildly dishonest.”

    The Left has proven to me, over and over, that they will do *anything* to obtain power. See: Brett Kavanaugh, the “Russian collusion”, the Ukraine impeachment… just to name three flagrant examples. The media lies on a regular basis so blatantly, that when it comes to the president or any current events about race relations, I assume the opposite of what they’re saying is true until I can research it myself. So the idea that Donald Trump is “wildly dishonest”… that’s certainly the Narrative, but I don’t agree. Brash? Uncouth? Pugnacious? Prone to over-exaggerating? Prone to spouting off without the full story? Has he spoken untruths? *YES* to all of the above. Wildly dishonest? Not in my view.

    Secondly, to equate Trump and Biden as both equally dangerous or unacceptable to our country seems to miss the point.

    As Al Mohler said: “I cannot accept the argument that a calm man who affirms the dismembering of babies in the womb has a superior character to a man who rants like Genghis Khan but acts to preserve that life. In my ideal world, I would vote for a candidate in whom the personal, the principled, and the practical earn my admiration. I do not live in that world. I live in this world, and I must act accordingly.”

    Lastly, John Piper and Douglas Wilson have had an interesting back-and-forth about this very topic. I’m sure you’ve seen these, but if not, here are the links:
    — Part 1: dougwils.com/books-and-culture/s7-engaging-the-culture/john-piper-me-and-the-cool-shame-election.html
    — Part 2: //dougwils.com/books-and-culture/s7-engaging-the-culture/a-second-round-on-john-piper-me-and-the-cool-shame-election.html (this is where I got the Mohler quote)

    Peace to you and yours, brother!

    1. Good to hear from you, Jonathan! I hope all is going well with you and your family.

      I appreciate the thoughtful reply as well! Allow me to push back slightly.

      Truth be told, I don’t think Biden and Trump are equally dangerous; I think both harbor disqualifying traits. Let me put it this way: Suppose my threshold of acceptability stops at ten pounds of overall badness. For me, Trump weighs in at about 14 pounds. Biden at about 20 pounds. In this respect, I agree that the Left poses a greater danger. The difference between us is that our greater-good calculus is operating on two different axes. I have drawn a line in the political sand because I think the system cannot sustain this level of foolishness. Of course, I don’t have in mind merely the political system divorced from the people who put them there. Far too many Americans actively enjoy a good Jerry Springer fiasco. Therein lies part of the problem. And it is one that I think our founding fathers understood when they said that our system required X amount of basic morality. Call me an alarmist, but I think we’re sliding too far into the morass of dishonesty and tribalism, and it’s threatening the substructure of the Republic.

      So, yes, I believe, as you point out, that the Left will do nearly anything to gain power. And it’s dangerous. But I believe that the Right is sliding along that spectrum, and it’s becoming quite concerning to me. Thus, when Mohler concludes by saying that he lives in this world and “must act accordingly,” I strongly disagree with the word “must,” as he likely intends it to function in the fulcrum of a false dichotomy- namely, that we are presented with voting for the lesser of two evils. There are more than two options. I can vote for someone with less than ten pounds of overall badness.

      Trump wildly dishonest? Well, what I can say? Yeah, I think the man is wildly dishonest. Of course, it’s hard to quantify that and prove it in some kind of objective manner. But after listening to a fair bit of Jocko Willink lately about leadership, trust ranks extremely high in the leadership equation. And I don’t trust Trump much at all. Call me crazy, but I think he is a compulsive liar.

      I agree that the news has lost a lot of our trust, but some of the leading newspapers have put together lists of his lying. Assuming half of it is accurate, then it is shocking. That being said, I recall being alarmed at what the Russian hoax study did reveal (and I agree that the main charges were found to be vacuous). But it exposed some serious issues. Even Shapiro agreed.

      But if I were to take but one example more recently, the first debate between Biden and Trump was so gloriously bad and embarrassing, I cannot see how we shouldn’t expect better (thankfully the second debate was less chaotic).

      I don’t know if you’ve ever listened to Eric Weinstein, but the guy is a genius, and I think he has some really insightful things to say about the current political stage. See his recent interview with Lex Fridman and Douglas Murray.

      But hey, at the end of the day, I really don’t care that much how you vote. I really don’t. So long as you and I decry and lament, with equal fervor, the sins on both sides of the political aisle. If the church does that, then I have greater hope for the situation.

  4. Not voting for either candidate is a completely respectable option.

    But I’ll give you my thoughts.

    I think your falsely attributing equal worth to the sins of both parties.

    Some things have the potential to be evil, and some things are just inherently evil.

    For example: tough borders, free market capitalism, and patriotism have the potential to be evil if taken to an extreme. But they are not necessarily evil.

    Abortion and LGBTQ+ are inherently evil. They are sins at every level. They are necessarily evil.

    Here’s another critical distinction: between things that are merely sinful, and things that are actively anti-Christian.

    This ugly philosophical mess of Critical Race/Gender Theory that undergirds Feminism, Black Lives Matter, and LGBTQ+ breeds rampant moral relativism and a complete uprooting of traditional Christian values. It’s a rejection of God and Christianity on an abstract and philosophical level. And we see it manifest in the destruction of fatherhood and traditional gender roles, the killing of babies, rampant divorce rates, sexualization of children, the emptying of churches, rise of Universalist churches, and atheism/agnosticism. Think of it from an eternal perspective, and these are all souls being lost because they’re being indoctrinated into a worldview that fundamentally hates God. And it’s all coming from progressive side.

    I just refuse to believe the dishonesty and danger on both sides is even remotely comparable.

    I’m less concerned with the literal personalities of both candidates as I am with the philosophies and world views they represent. That’s what’s actually going to make a difference. And when I look at it that way, it’s very clear that as a conservative Christian, Trump is the way to go.

    It also makes things easier once you realize that 90% of the media’s claims of racism, sexism, xenophobia, etc… are just untrue. 90% of the things they conjure up about Trump are patently false. And you could see that by just watching the clips yourself. He’s not the monster they try to make him out to be.

    Just my thoughts, thanks for reading, if you did 🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

      You said, “I just refuse to believe the dishonesty and danger on both sides is even remotely comparable.”

      Note that I did not argue that. Suppose that my line of acceptability stops at ten pounds of badness. Trump is like 14 pounds. The Left is 20 pounds. One is worse. But both fail to meet the requisite criteria, in my view.

      So in order to change my mind, you have to show why the 14 pounds is still acceptable.

Leave a comment